Categorized | News

2013 Masters: Aussie Rules!

By: Wandy Wauran

Adam Scott celebrating his win of the Masters 2013Augusta, Georgia. Adam Scott finally broke through and captured his 1st Major Tournament win. He beat Angel Cabrera on the 2nd hole of the playoff with a clutch birdie putt. That same birdie putt also gave Australia its 1st ever Masters Champion. The Land Down Under can now rest the disappointing spirits of Greg Norman who has had many forgettable moments at Augusta.

Back to Scott, his Masters 2013 performance is a realization of his game’s potential. His golf swing is undoubtedly one of the best swings in golf and he simply put a ball-striking clinic on the final round. Scott would have won going away had he not missed at least 3-4 very makeable putts.

I hope Adam Scott will take full advantage of this floodgates opening and continue winning major tournaments. Oh wait…when does the ban on anchoring putters take effect? Scott employs a broom putter (anchored to his chest) that will soon be illegal in tournament play. It will be interesting to see how Mr. Scott will adjust. His putting was considered a weakness before he put the long putter in play. Nevertheless, Adam Scott will continue to have great success on tour, he is just too talented and winning this year’s Masters will only get him over the hump. As far as his putting…maybe he can ask Steve Stricker for some tips.


Guan Tianlang was not only the youngest player in tournament history, he was on to be the youngest player ever to make the cut. Here are some names of professionals who missed the cut: Graeme McDowell, Ian Poulter, Webb Simpson, Hunter Mahan. These big names were beaten at the Masters week by a 14 year old Chinese amateur golfer.  What made this more remarkable is that he was assessed a 1-stroke penalty for slow play. It is beyond me why there was not another player who was also penalized. If anyone was paying attention, most of the 3-somes took over 5 hours to finish their round. Guan said that he had trouble picking a club since the wind was swirling. Every golfer can sympathize with that. Guan showed a lot of class by accepting the penalty and not making a big fuss over it. Pretty good for someone who is 14.


The tournament committee had another controversial call that involved the #1 golfer in the world, Tiger Woods. By the time you read this article, you will have known about Tiger receiving a 2 stroke penalty for an improper drop. The issue: Why wasn’t Tiger disqualified from the tournament from signing an incorrect scorecard? Let us resolve this issue.

This is what Tiger said in an interview after he finished his 2nd round, “So I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards further backand I took, tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit.” He was talking about the drop he had to make after his ball found the water hazard in front of the 15th green.

Rule 26-1 – The player may under the penalty of one stroke
a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of rule 27-1 playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played

“Two yards back” and “as nearly as possible at the spot” does not correlate, right? Although it was not his intent, Tiger did improperly drop his ball. He inadvertently admitted to doing so in his post-round interview. Why wasn’t he DQed after signing a wrong scorecard? Apparently, the tournament committee was fully aware of the breach before Tiger finished his round and signed his scorecard. The committee decided incorrectly that the drop was a non-issue. They did not bother to inform Tiger of the possible issue because they did not think such an issue exists. Due to this error, the committee used an “out” in the form of :

Rule 33-7, Disqualification Penalty; Committee Discretion
A penalty of disqualification may in exceptional individual cases be waived , modified or imposed if the Committee considers such action warranted. Any penalty less than disqualification must not be waived or modified.

In conclusion, all things being equal, would the committee use this “out” if the player had been a certain 14-year old Chinese golfer?

About Wandy Wauran

Wandy Wauran is a part time golfer, full time golf enthusiast, owner of Big Fish Golf Indonesia and Performance Clubfitting. You can get in touch with him by email:

Leave a Reply