The Tee Set Championship 2013

Keith Miller

Dec 12,2013

The Tee Set Championship 2013

The Tee Set year has a rhythm of its own with golf every weekend, net score most of the time and Stableford on the last Saturday in the month and the once a year excursion to the South for the Bandung Bash – but all of it leading up to the season’s zenith, the Tee Set Championship in November.
Planning for the event requires a “meeting” or two in the Star Deli to make sure all are on the same wavelength – and then a bunch of work getting Sponsors confirmed, shirts designed, scorecards prepared, banners sorted, the menu and suppliers selected and all the rest of the stuff that goes to putting together Jakarta’s leading annual amateur Handicap championship – and then making it all work.
The planning and work proved worthwhile once again this year as the event was to go without any significanthitches at the Matoa Golf Club on Sunday the 24th November– with even the rain staying away until after the round was complete and the 93 Tee Setters safely ensconced back in the clubhouse.
The day itself was to start very early with the organisers having to leave home around 4am in order to get to the course in time to set everything up for the arrival of players from 5.30 onwards when the Breakfast of Champions, Nasi Goreng was available, together with Bloody Marys to wash it down, at least for the faithful.

Getting round the course on Tee Set Championship day can be a severe challenge for the unwary and we are not talking about narrow fairways of tricky greens here but rather the variety and quantity of food and drink on offer including of course Hot-Hed’s excellent giant (to non-US eyes) Hot Dogs and Jack Calcote’s notorious and lethal “smoothies” available from the carts endlessly criss-crossing the course.

The glittering prizes

After the round, a fine lunch was immediately available including the usual excellent Tucker Boxyabbies’ (craw fish if you are not from Australia), delectable mini pies baked by Cecilia’s Café on Jl. Ampera Raya – and all topped off by Jesse Baker’s superb chili beans deluxe. With committee member Mike Garwood away sorting out New Zealand sheep  – and having refused to leave behind his Chili Beans recipe – Jesse’s fine contribution was particularly welcome.
Before the start of the prize giving itself, long time Tee Setter, Anthony King, took the opportunity to say a few words about that rock of the Jakarta golfing scene, Matt Harter, who had passed away two days previously, just hours after reaching his home town in Colorado. Matt’s Brother Peter had overseen his medical care in Singapore for the past 9 months and accompanied him on the long haul home.
Anthony reminded us all of the massive contribution that Matt had made to golf in his long association with Indonesia, having pivotal roles in the Interleague, the Bali Classic, the Tee Set itself and much else besides. Matt was a big man in every sense.
With so many of Matt’s friends present there was more than the odd tear in the eye as we raised glasses to show our respect to a fine man taken before his time. RIP Matt Harter, you will be greatly missed by Jakarta’s Golfing community.
The President then recapped an eventful year for the Tee Set, not least the fun of the Bandung Bash, the success of the 30th Anniversary event, the resurgence of the Tee Set Interleague team as improved its Interleague standing considerably, most valuable player Sam Western winning every one of his 5 matches

Championship Winner

Finally we got around to a prize giving with the day’s major prize going to Nenden Fleischmann in taking top honours at the Tee Set Championship, closely followed by David Shenman in the runner up spot. Well done both.
The day also saw the conclusion of the 2013 Match Play competition with the final being contested between Matt Fairey and Alistair Livingstone with Matt eventually prevailing 1 up. Terrific match that went all the way to the wire. Congratulations to both players on their efforts and indeed for the fine spirit that the game was played in.
This year, and for the first time, the Tee Set committee decided that superior performance over the entire season should see some reward also, and three new categories duly appear hear on the final prize list for lowest average gross, net and most rounds played.

Tee Set Championship
Champion – Nenden Fleischmann
Runner up – David Shenman
Low Gross – A Division, Sam Westen
Low Gross – B Division, Peter Reichlmeier
Low Gross – C Division, Jan Jelinek
Low Putts – NureyPuzey, 25 putts
Longest Drive – Ladies, Santi Miller 225m
Longest Drive – Men, Mo Maharam 275m
Nearest to the Pin, Bob Fleischmann 2.1m
1st Par HC>=30, Cate McCosker
1st Birdie, Chris Smith
1st Sandy, Harold Hayne

Match Play Championship
Champion – Matt Fairey
Runner up – Alistair Livingston

Best over the season
Best Gross, Joseph Peries, 74 average
Best Nett, Sam Westen, 71 average
Most Played, EvaldoRoos, 45 rounds
With the prizes all done, Ric announced that following the independent counting of the vote, Peter Reichlmeier would be his successor for the 2013/2014 season, while Peter thanked Ric for his enormous efforts over the years – and told the assembly that he was only taking on the Presidency in the full and certain knowledge that he would be getting plenty of help from all the Usual Suspects!

The Band from Bandung

With the formalities all over, and the “Band from Bandung” striking up, it was time for the usual fun of the “Tee Set’s Got Talent” competition when a whole bunch of Tee Setters, with their vocal cords suitably lubricated by now, were to get up on the stage and show us what they had. Craig Ewers won fairly convincingly but, sadly, was later disqualified for admitting to having previously performed professionally!
A most special day for all those who took part and for which we have to thank our fabulous Gold Sponsors, Hot-Hed, Samson Tiara, International Paint Indonesia and Seascape Surveys, while our Silver sponsors were Quest Geophysical and Fugro Indonesia. Other sponsors were Kojo, Star Deli Pub, Murphy’s Irish Pub, Mad Dogs Pub and PT AdiWarnaPratama. Thanks once again to them all; without them this great event just would not happen.
Roll on the 2014 Tee Set Championship!!