Chowrasia Caps Remarkable Comeback to Win Panasonic Open India

Simon Reynolds

Apr 29,2019

Chowrasia Caps Remarkable Comeback to Win Panasonic Open India

Delhi, November 9: S.S.P. Chowrasia clinched his third Asian Tour title at the Panasonic Open India after defeating Rahil Gangjee of India and Sri Lanka’s Mithun Perera on the first extra hole on Sunday.

The popular Indian coolly rolled in a 15-footer birdie in extra time to cap a sensational comeback as he was five shots off the lead at the start of the day at the US$300,000 event sanctioned by the Asian Tour and Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI).

With his trademark short game in full display at the Delhi Golf Club, Chowrasia returned with the day’s low score of six-under-par 66 highlighted by eight birdies to finish on 12-under-par 276.

“I worked very hard for this win because I wanted to boost my confidence. It is three years since I last won and I will take a lot of positives from the win,” said the 36-year-old Chowrasia, who won his first Asian Tour title at the 2008 Indian Masters on the same venue.

“I’ve lost in two play-offs before but it never crossed my mind. I was focused on making the birdie putt in the play-off. I always had the belief that I could win on the Asian Tour again and I did,” he smiled.

After turning in 35, Chowrasia fired five birdies that included three in a row from the 15th hole which was the turning point in the thrilling final round which saw the lead exchange hands on numerous occasions.

“At the start of the day, I was thinking that if I could shoot a four or five-under, I will have a chance to win. I was confident I could catch the leader. I played very well on the back nine and the hat-trick of birdies proved to be the turning point,” Chowrasia explained.

Gangjee battled tooth-and-nail after a poor front nine 37 but was in contention again following an eagle on 14. After dropping a shot on 16, he held his cool to birdie the last for a 71 to join the play-off.

The dejected Indian rued the missed opportunity to win his second Asian Tour title after leading for three days.

“I knew the momentum would swing through the final day and I told myself to play normally and not to worry too much about the leader-board. I missed out on a couple of chances towards the end and that just took the game away from me. It was a tough contest in the end with lot of contenders but S.S.P. played the best golf to come through,” said Gangjee.

Playing in his first ever play-off on the Asian Tour, Perera missed out on the chance to become the first Sri Lankan champion on the Asian Tour after narrowly missing a 10-footer birdie putt in extra time. He ended the day with a 70 highlighted by two opening birdies.

Indonesia had three professionals in the event. PGTI Order of Merit leader continued his solid form in Asia playing in his 8th Asian Tour event of 2014 although never threatened the leader-finishing in a tie for 34th with former Indonesian No. 1 Rory Hie competing in only his fourth Asian Tour event of the year. Rory Hie was looking all set for a Top 20 finish but a back problem on the final day restricted his dynamic swing as he limped in with a final round 76.

Second year PGTI professional Rinaldi Adiyandono fresh off his maiden Indonesian professional victory: Panasonic Open Indonesia 2014; gratefully accepted the invitation to compete in his first Asian Tour event outside Indonesia. Although finishing way down the leader-board, due to a disappointing third round, there were lots of positives to take from his adventures in India, and an interesting insight into what he needs to work on to compete at this higher level of professional golf.

Scores after round 4 of the Panasonic Open India 2014 being played at the par 72, 6983 Yards Delhi GC course (a- denotes amateur):

276 – S.S.P CHOWRASIA (IND) 70-71-69-66, Mithun PERERA (SRI) 70-67-69-70, Rahil GANGJEE (IND) 66-68-71-71.

277 – Shubhankar SHARMA (IND) 73-65-68-71.

278 – Akinori TANI (JPN) 71-72-67-68, Unho PARK (AUS) 69-71-68-70, Siddikur RAHMAN (BAN) 70-67-69-72.

279 – Jazz JANEWATTANANOND (THA) 69-70-71-69, Panuphol PITTAYARAT (THA) 70-68-69-72.

280 – Rashid KHAN (IND) 68-70-71-71.

281 – Shankar DAS (IND) 69-71-73-68, Atthaphon SRIBOONKAEW (THA) 73-70-68-70, Lionel WEBER (FRA) 73-66-69-73, Wade ORMSBY (AUS) 68-68-70-75.

282 – Chiragh KUMAR (IND) 71-72-72-67, Shamim KHAN (IND) 72-71-70-69.

283 – Martin ROMINGER (SUI) 73-70-73-67.

284 – Blair WILSON (AUS) 70-72-73-69, Manav JAINI (IND) 71-71-72-70, CHOO Tze Huang (SIN) 68-73-71-72.

Selected Scores

291 – George GANDRANATA (INA) 71-72-75-73, Rory HIE (INA) 74-70-71-76

305 – Rinaldi ADIYANDONO (INA) 76-73-82-74